Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Preview

Guided Optic Nerve Reset Session

A strategy for when your body is in a state of dysregulation

Hey guys.

Today, I'm going to walk you through how to apply an Optic Nerve Reset when you’re in need of a nervous system regulation tool.

I love this one because it's quick and easy. You really can do it anywhere on the go. You don't need to have anything fancy. And for me and my nervous system, it works really quickly, in a matter of seconds.

I few weeks ago I posted about…

creating your own ‘Self-Regulation Tools Menu’ for those moments when you’re spinning out and dysregulated



Over these next few weeks I'm going to fill in those tools mentioned with guided resources for our paid community. Because all of our nervous systems are unique and it's really this trial and error in seeing what works for us.

Want to create your own self-regulation menu? Join my paid community where ADHD moms are reparenting themselves, together.

Assessing Which Tools are High Payoffs for You

Before we begin, I'm gonna walk you through a couple different ways you can assess if this is a high payoff tool for your particular nervous system.

A couple of ways we can do this:

  1. First, what I typically do is a head rotation. So I'll turn my head to one direction and note what I notice (right now I notice a doorknob.) And then I’ll turn my head and take note of what I see in the other direction (the edge of my desk.) I'll make that mental note before applying the strategy and then again after. If my range of motion increases then that is a high payoff tool for my nervous system.

Because our nervous system directly correlates with our range of motion.

  1. Another way is to do the Charlie's angels pointer finger. And you essentially do the same thing. You're going to notice how far you can go in one direction and the other. Noting what you're pointing to in either direction.

  2. A third one is the cactus arm. You hold your arm up at a 90 degree angle and you just let your arm fall. And you notice the space and how far your arm falls before and after. If there is improved range of motion, then that is a high payoff tool for you.

Guided Optic Nerve Reset Session

Okay. So let's get started with the optic nerve reset.

This post is for paid subscribers

Neurodiversity Advocate
Reframing Neurodiversity
Welcome to Reframing Neurodiversity, I’m your host Melissa Jackson and I’m here to tell you that it’s time to see neurodivergence for what it truly is- a gift that benefits us all.
I’m on a mission to reframe the way we view neurodivergence as a collective, and to empower us as neurodivergent adults and parents with the language and tools to advocate for ourselves and our kids.
Join me each week as my guests and I share our personal experiences paired with cutting edge research leaving you feeling seen, validated and proud of the way your brain works.