Neurodiversity Advocate
Reframing Neurodiversity
A Guided Meditation for Building Confidence
0:00
-15:00

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Neurodiversity Advocate

A Guided Meditation for Building Confidence

Finding my center in times of overwhelm

I have just been having a week where I've felt really raw, sensitive, exposed. Like everything feels extra. Do you know this feeling?

When I'm in this space, I know I need to take extra extra good care of myself, you know?

I need more rest. I need to prioritize the things that fill me up, the things that help regulate my nervous system, the things that help me find my way back to my body when my mind is spinning and I feel overwhelmed.

Yet the irony is when I'm in this space, I tend to find myself almost in paralysis where I'm like, I don't want to do all the things that I know are good for me.

And it's really been a conscious effort for me to take the steps I need to take, even when I don't feel like doing them.

But some weeks, it's just harder than others.

And as a highly sensitive person and a neurodivergent person it's easier to get overwhelmed, right? Because we are just experiencing the world and all the things more intensely and we're more sensitive to all of it.

So I’m giving myself grace and compassion, and coming back to my tools that I know work. And one of those tools for me is meditation.

Using Meditation to Ground into a Calm, Present State

I love guided meditations. I love to light a candle, incense, or palo santo, dim the lights, find a quiet corner, and just breathe and find my center. Ground my body.

Because my mind can be such a busy, swirling place.

And feeling more grounded helps me feel more present and calm. So I can show up in the ways that I really want to and feel proud of.

So, I want to share one of the meditations from my meditation vault with you guys today. It’s one of my favorites.

I hope you can use it as a potential resource to fill your own cup, to take that moment of self-care so that you can show up as a more grounded, present version of yourself.

It’s also a great one to share with your kids too!

I would love to hear from you — do you enjoy meditation? Is it hard for you? Is it something you aspire to start incorporating into your life?

This post is for paid subscribers

Neurodiversity Advocate
Reframing Neurodiversity
Welcome to Reframing Neurodiversity, I’m your host Melissa Jackson and I’m here to tell you that it’s time to see neurodivergence for what it truly is- a gift that benefits us all.
I’m on a mission to reframe the way we view neurodivergence as a collective, and to empower us as neurodivergent adults and parents with the language and tools to advocate for ourselves and our kids.
Join me each week as my guests and I share our personal experiences paired with cutting edge research leaving you feeling seen, validated and proud of the way your brain works.