Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

Self-regulate in seconds

with my new Creating Your Self-Regulation Toolbox Guide

The more I do this work, the more and more convicted I'm becoming in the importance of:

  • Understanding our nervous system

  • Befriending our nervous system

  • And having the tools to self-regulate it

so that we can show up for ourselves, our kids and our lives in ways that we feel good about.

That’s exactly why I created a whole post about Creating Your Own Self-Regulation Toolbox here on Substack, where I explain more about the impact of self-regulation on ADHD moms and also walk our paid community through different self-regulation strategies, showing you how to determine if they’re high payoffs for your nervous system.

As an ADHD mom, I know how easy it is to try something and forget it…

We can have good intentions, but not follow through, because life's busy and we can struggle with working memory- it’s just a part of it, right?

So how do we create systems in our lives that actually support us in creating what we want without shame, blame or guilt, while understanding that sometimes we need support.

So I've created a pamphlet for you guys where you can walk through:

  • Different emotional regulation strategies

  • Organize what you've tried so far

  • And determine if it has or hasn’t been a high payoff for you: all in one spot.

DOWNLOAD NOW

Because as we know, all of our nervous systems are unique. So determining what is going to be effective for you might be different than what's effective for me.

Self-Regulation Strategies for ADHD Moms

I am going to continue to bring more and more options of ways to get into your body, of ways to self-regulate, that are quick, easy and can be applied almost anywhere, almost any time.

I love creating strategies that:

  • Are accessible

  • That you aren't intimidated to try

  • That don't require 20 minutes of meditation, but you can do in the moment and determine quickly if you find relief, if it's a high payoff for you.

And best of all, thanks to our paid community, I get to visually guide you through each technique as well.

I love the Deb Dana quote that says: We do the work when we don't need it so it's there for us when we do.

It's so easy when things are flowing and going well to sort of forget about our tools and then when we're in that moment of crisis or triggered to feel like we're drowning.

I like to make choices that my future self will thank me for.

So as a gift to your future self, I'm going to encourage you to download this freebie and have a space to keep track of what works for you, to bring you back into your body so that when you need it you've got resources that are there for you.

(Want to understand why this is so important and how self-regulation strategies can help you feel safer in your body when you're spinning out? Read this article here.)

I would love to hear what you think.

Leave a comment

And stay tuned for more! I'm going to be continuing to drop more and more self-regulation resources for you.

Discussion about this podcast

Neurodiversity Advocate
Reframing Neurodiversity
Welcome to Reframing Neurodiversity, I’m your host Melissa Jackson and I’m here to tell you that it’s time to see neurodivergence for what it truly is- a gift that benefits us all.
I’m on a mission to reframe the way we view neurodivergence as a collective, and to empower us as neurodivergent adults and parents with the language and tools to advocate for ourselves and our kids.
Join me each week as my guests and I share our personal experiences paired with cutting edge research leaving you feeling seen, validated and proud of the way your brain works.